Primary Investigator

Fernando Escobedo

Fernando Escobedo

Prof. Escobedo received a B.S. degree in Chemical Engineering from the University of San Agustin in Peru (1987) and worked for 5 years as an R&D engineer in a peruvian company before coming to the U.S. for graduate studies. He received a Chemical Engineering M.S. degree from the University of Nebraska-Lincoln (1993) and the Ph.D. from the University of Wisconsin-Madison (1997). He joined Cornell University at the end of 1998. He currently holds the Samuel and Diane Bodman Professor in Engineering.

Graduate Students

Mohammed Suliman Alshammasi

Mohammed joined the group as a PhD student in Fall 2021. He is currently studying polymer molecules at adsorbing surfaces using molecular simulation methods. Mohammed is a PADI certified open-water scuba diver.

Manish Kumar Das
manish kumar das

Manish’s research interests, broadly speaking, are computational engineering of soft materials in energy systems, at atomic and mesoscales, and combining data-centric approaches with classical molecular simulations for discovery purposes. He likes traveling and playing video games, but mostly watching random videos on YouTube.

Isabela Quintela Matos

Isabela is a PhD student. Her research focuses on modeling the self-assembly of nanoparticles coated with DNA chains, by levering the tunable binding properties of DNA to control the particle-particle interactions. Enjoys gardening and cooking, but mostly eating.

Prajwal Bangalore Prakash

Prajwal is a PhD student in the group. His research focuses on studying the phase behavior of anisotropic colloidal particles and molecular structure modeling of the EUV photoresists. In his free time he enjoys running, playing squash, and hiking.

Gaurav Rawat
gaurav rawat

Gaurav joined the group in Fall 2021 as a Master’s student. He completed his undergraduate degree at IIT Kanpur, India, in Chemical Engineering. Following his undergrad, he worked as an Associate Manager at Vedanta Limited before coming to Cornell University. He loves to play basketball for leisure.

Luis Nieves RosadoLuis Nieves-Rosado

Luis Nieves Rosado is a PhD student originally from Puerto Rico. His research interests lie in the intersection between colloidal and polymeric self assembly. He is dedicated to diversity and equity and currently leads the departmental Diversity and Inclusion Program. Outside the Cornell sphere, he enjoys board games, video games and a good book.

Yangyang Sun

Yangyang’s research is about understanding the phase behavior of self-assembled poly-amphiphilic molecules using molecular dynamics method. Country music is his favorite.

Vikram Thapar
vikram thapar

Vikram Thapar is a Postdoc in the group. He did his undergraduate in Chemical Engineering at the Indian Institute of Technology, Mumbai. He then received his PhD in the field of computer simulations of self-assembly of anisotropic nanoparticles from Cornell University. After finishing his PhD, he worked as a Postdoc in collaboration with IMEC, Leuven, and the University of Chicago. He also worked in Chonnam National University, S. Korea where he focused on understanding the self-assembly of polymers using coarse grained molecular simulations.



Dr. Umang Agrawal (Shell, India)

Dr. Bernardo Aguilera (P&G)

Dr. Dhananjay Bhawe (Intel)

Dr. Ernesto Borrero (MD, Puerto Rico)

Dr. Zhong Chen (3M)

Dr. Michael Fenwick (Research Associate, Cornell Chemistry Dept)

Dr. Ivan Gospodinov (Prof. Univ. Chem Metallurgy, Bulgaria)

Dr. Sushmit Goyal (Corning)

Dr. Unmukt Gupta (Post-Doc Washington University in Saint Louis)

Dr. Bettina John (Goldman Sachs)

Dr. Mihir Khadilkar (W. L. Gore & Associates, Germany)

Dr. Francisco Martinez-Veracoechea (Process Systems Enterprise, London)

Dr. Ankita Mukhtyar (Dow)

Dr. Chris Nowak (Sandia National Laboratories)

Dr. Poornima Padmanabhan (Prof. Rochester Institute of Technology)

Dr. Brian Pasquini (SciTec)

Dr. Sai Pooja Mahajan (Post-Doc Johns Hopkins University)

Dr. Elizabeth Savoy (Corning)

Dr. Abhishek Sharma (Post-Doc University of Chicago)

Dr. Vikram Thapar (Post-Doc Chonnam National University, South Korea)

Dr. Camilo Velez-Vega (Novartis)


Mohammed Alshammasi (Aramco, Saudi Arabi)

Chih-Yin Chen (Corning, Taiwan)

Chen Fang (Aspen Technology)

Arjita Kulshreshtha (PhD student University of Delaware)

Miwako Nakahara (Mitsubishi)

Lauren Stutzman (Buffalo, NY)

Allen Yang (Intel)

Endian Wang (China)


Dr. Charlles Abreu (Prof. Federal University of Rio de Janeiro, Brazil)

Dr. Juan Carlos Araque (Prof. Benedictine College)

Dr. Carlos Avendano Jimenez (Prof. University Manchester, UK)

Dr. Sergio Mendez (Prof. California State University, Long Beach)

Dr. Mayank Misra (Schrödinger Inc.)

Dr. Salomon Turgman-Cohen (Prof. Kettering Univ.)